According to each exchange's official terms of use (checked 2026-10-23), on Binance's global site you contract with three Nest companies set up in Abu Dhabi's ADGM, on OKX with Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., registered in Seychelles, on Bybit with Bybit Technology Limited, on MEXC with MEXC (Comoros) Ltd, and on Ourbit with Ourbit Holdings Ltd. of the British Virgin Islands. The terms of Gate, KuCoin, WEEX, XT.COM and HTX do not give a full company name at all. Governing law ranges from England and Wales, Hong Kong and Singapore to Panama, Pakistan and Saint Vincent, and every exchange except XT.COM sends disputes to arbitration.
An exchange has one brand, but the company you sign with can change with where you live. Below, for the 15 exchanges Fee Otter covers, we list the contracting entity named in the global terms, the date of those terms, the governing law and the dispute process, followed by the regional entities that official pages name. Every row links to the official terms. Terms change often, so rely on the version you see when you sign up. This page summarises public terms and is not legal advice.
Why the contracting entity matters
- Which company holds your assets: the company in the terms is the one with contractual duties to you. If the platform fails, you are a creditor of that company, not of the whole brand. For how past bankruptcies paid out, see crypto exchange collapse history.
- Which rules apply: a licence belongs to a specific legal entity and only covers its own jurisdiction. The global-site contracting company is usually not the licensed one. Licences are covered in crypto exchange licenses by country and MiCA-licensed crypto exchanges.
- Where you go when something goes wrong: most terms rule out court cases and class actions. You have to notify the platform, wait a set period, and then file for arbitration in Hong Kong, Singapore or elsewhere. Bitget also says claims expire after one year.
Contracting entities of 15 exchanges
"Not named" means the global terms we read give no full company name; names from other official documents of the same exchange are in brackets. Checked 2026-10-23.
| Exchange | Global-site contracting entity | Terms date | Governing law | Disputes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binance | Nest Exchange Limited, Nest Clearing and Custody Limited, Nest Trading Limited (all set up in ADGM, Abu Dhabi) | Effective 2026-07-21 | ADGM law (clause 38) | ICC arbitration, seat ADGM, 3 arbitrators (clause 37) |
| OKX | Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd. (Seychelles), for users not covered by a regional entity | Updated 2026-10-22 | England and Wales (19.1) | HKIAC mediation first, then HKIAC arbitration after 90 days, seat Hong Kong (20.1 to 20.3) |
| Bybit | Bybit Technology Limited (place of incorporation not stated) | Effective 2026-10-16 | Singapore (27.1) | SIAC arbitration, seat Singapore, 1 arbitrator (27.2) |
| Gate | Not named | Updated 2026-07-22 | Panama (14.1) | ICC arbitration, seat Panama, 1 arbitrator (15.2) |
| Bitget | BTG Technology Holdings Limited (place of incorporation not stated) | Updated 2026-10-20 | Hong Kong (18.1) | Email legal@bitget.com and wait 30 days, then HKIAC arbitration, seat Hong Kong; 1-year claim limit (18.2 to 18.3) |
| MEXC | MEXC (Comoros) Ltd (Comoros) | Updated 2026-10-13 | England and Wales (clause 49) | HKIAC arbitration, 3 arbitrators, seat not stated (clauses 47 to 48) |
| BingX | Nieve Cruz PA Corporation (place of incorporation not stated) | Updated 2026-09-02 | Hong Kong (15(a)) | 60 days of negotiation, then HKIAC arbitration, seat Hong Kong (15(b) to 15(d)) |
| Pionex | Marketa Trading Inc. (place of incorporation not stated) | Effective 2024-07-09, page modified 2026-09-01 | English common law | 3 months of consultation or mediation, then ICC arbitration, seat Belize |
| KuCoin | Not named (the assets recovery agreement and site footer say Peken Global Limited, Seychelles) | Updated 2026-09-29 | Turks and Caicos Islands (article 103) | SIAC arbitration, seat not stated (article 104) |
| Bitfinex | BFXWW Inc. (non-US persons), BFXNA Inc. (US persons); the privacy statement says both are BVI companies | Updated 2026-08-12 | British Virgin Islands (1.5) | CPR arbitration, 1 arbitrator; seat London if an in-person hearing is needed and no seat is agreed (12.1) |
| WEEX | Only "WEEX" | Updated 2025-06-02 | Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (20(a)) | ICC arbitration, seat Kingstown (20(b)); the futures agreement names Seychelles law instead |
| XT.COM | Not named | No date shown (help-centre record 2026-10-14) | Not stated | Not stated |
| HTX | Only "HTX Operators" | Updated 2026-09 | Pakistan (17.10.2) | 30 days of internal resolution, then HKIAC arbitration, seat Hong Kong (17.10.1 to 17.10.2) |
| CoinW | Not named in the user agreement; the legal statement names COINW, incorporated under the laws of Comoros | User agreement 2025-09-25, legal statement 2026-06-01 | Hong Kong (13.1) | Negotiation first, then HKIAC arbitration, seat Hong Kong (13.3) |
| Ourbit | Ourbit Holdings Ltd. (British Virgin Islands, company no. 2138612) | Updated 2026-05-30 | England and Wales (clause 49) | HKIAC arbitration, 1 arbitrator, seat not stated (clauses 47 to 48) |
Official terms: Binance, OKX, Bybit, Gate, Bitget, MEXC, BingX, Pionex, KuCoin, Bitfinex, WEEX, XT.COM, HTX, CoinW user agreement and legal statement, Ourbit. Checked 2026-10-23.
Exchanges whose terms name the company
Binance: three ADGM companies, three contracts
The terms in force since 2026-07-21 split the global site's services between three ADGM companies: Nest Exchange Limited runs the exchange, Nest Clearing and Custody Limited handles clearing and custody, and Nest Trading Limited is the broker-dealer. The terms say each is a separate legal entity and that you have separate contractual obligations with each one. All three are supervised by the ADGM Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA).
OKX: regional entities listed in the terms
Of the 15 exchanges, OKX is the only one whose global terms list its regional companies one by one and say which users each serves. Users not covered by a regional entity contract with Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd. The page shows an update on 2026-10-22, the day before our check; we checked again on 2026-10-24, and the terms were still dated 2026-10-22 with the same contracting companies, governing law and dispute clauses.
Bybit, Bitget, BingX, Pionex: a company name, no place of incorporation
All four name the contracting company but not where it is incorporated. Pionex adds that neither Pionex Pte. Ltd. nor Pionex Inc. is the operator, and that the operator may change as the business changes.
MEXC, Ourbit, Bitfinex: name and place of incorporation
MEXC names MEXC (Comoros) Ltd in Comoros. Ourbit names Ourbit Holdings Ltd. in the British Virgin Islands, with a company number. Bitfinex uses BFXWW Inc. or BFXNA Inc. depending on whether you are a US person, and the same terms say US persons generally cannot use the service.
Exchanges whose terms give no company name
The global terms of Gate, KuCoin, WEEX, XT.COM and HTX give no full company name. CoinW names one in a separate legal statement:
- Gate: the terms define "Gate" as the sites, Gate and its affiliates, with no company name. The privacy policy has none either.
- KuCoin: the terms only say "the Platform" or "this Company". A separate assets recovery agreement (2025-02-26) and the site footer name Peken Global Limited, incorporated under the laws of Seychelles.
- WEEX: only "WEEX (the Company)". WEEX SP. Z O.O. (Poland) appears in the on-site deposit flow, and the iOS app developer is Weex Virtual Currency Exchange LLC. Neither is named as the contracting party.
- XT.COM: the user agreement has no company name and no governing-law or dispute clause. It only says that "the right of final interpretation" belongs to the website.
- HTX: only "HTX Operators", defined to include legal persons, DAOs and teams. The contact address is htxsupport@htx-inc.com.
- CoinW: the user agreement names no company. The legal statement (updated 2026-06-01) says it is issued by COINW, incorporated under the laws of Comoros, and forms part of the user agreement.
Terms that name no company do not make an exchange illegal, but if something goes wrong you first have to work out who you are dealing with. Before you keep large sums on such a platform, know who you would turn to in a dispute.
Regional entities named on official pages
This table lists only companies named in the exchange's own terms, licence pages or announcements. A licence page lists licensed companies, which are not necessarily the one you contract with. For EU MiCA entities, the ESMA MiCA register is the reference.
| Exchange | Region | Company | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| OKX | European Economic Area | OKX Europe Limited, OKX Europe Markets Limited (Malta) | Global terms |
| OKX | United States | OKX INC. (Delaware) | Global terms |
| OKX | Australia | OKX Australia Pty Ltd, OKX Australia Financial Pty Ltd | Global terms |
| OKX | UAE | OKX Middle East Fintech FZE | Global terms |
| OKX | Singapore | OKX SG Pte. Ltd. (licensed digital payment token services), OKX Financial Pte. Ltd. | Global terms |
| OKX | Brazil, El Salvador and Argentina | OKX Serviços Digitais Ltda., OKX Fintech, S.A. de C.V. (incl. Argentina branch) | Global terms |
| OKX | Some Mexico residents (registered 2022-11-16 to 2023-08-28) and institutional users registered from 2023-08-29 | OKX Bahamas FinTech Company Limited (Bahamas) | Global terms |
| Bybit | UAE | Bybit Virtual Asset Platform Operator – L.L.C – S.P.C (these terms use English and Welsh law and SIAC arbitration) | Bybit legal documents, 2026-10-16 |
| Bybit | Brazil, Kazakhstan | Bybit Brasil Sociedade Prestadora de Serviços de Ativos Virtuais Ltda., Bybit Limited (AIFC) | Bybit legal documents |
| Binance | Japan, Australia, Dubai, Bahrain, Indonesia, Thailand and others | Binance Japan Inc., InvestbyBit Pty Ltd (Binance Australia), Binance FZE, Binance Bahrain BSC(c), PT. Aset Digital Berkat (Tokocrypto), Gulf Binance Co., Ltd. and others | Licences page (no date) |
| Gate | Malta, Japan, Dubai, Australia and others | Gate Technology Ltd, Gate Japan K.K., Gate Technology FZE, Gate Information Pty Ltd and others | Group licences page (no date) |
| KuCoin | EEA (except Malta), Brazil | KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH (Vienna), KuCoin Brasil Sociedade Prestadora de Serviços de Ativos Virtuais Ltda. | kucoin.com/en-eu page, global terms |
| BingX | Australia | StellarExchange Pty Ltd (fiat service support, not the trading counterparty) | Global terms 4.2.1 |
| Bitfinex | Derivatives, Brazil, Türkiye | Bitfinex Derivatives El Salvador S.A. de C.V., BFX BRASIL LTDA., Bitfinex Teknoloji A.Ş. | Their own terms of service |
| Pionex | SEPA euro services | Alchemy Pay AG (from 2026-07-28) | Pionex announcement |
The EU MiCA entities of Bybit and BingX (Bybit EU GmbH, and MEGE zweite GmbH trading as BingX EU) are on the ESMA register, but the global terms we read do not mention them. Binance's licences page has no EEA section.
Example: the same person moves, and the contracting company changes
Say you open an OKX account. Its terms pick the contracting company by where you live:
- In a country with no regional entity: you contract with Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd. (Seychelles), under English and Welsh law, with HKIAC mediation and then arbitration in Hong Kong.
- After moving to an approved EEA location: the contracting company becomes OKX Europe Limited in Malta, under its own regional terms.
- After moving to Australia: it becomes OKX Australia Pty Ltd and OKX Australia Financial Pty Ltd, with spot and derivatives under different companies.
Now look at timing. If you have a withdrawal dispute on Bitget, the terms require a Notice to legal@bitget.com first. Only if it is still unresolved after 30 days can you file for HKIAC arbitration, and the claim expires after one year. For the same stuck withdrawal, Bitget makes you wait at least 30 days before arbitration, and you lose the claim if you do not bring it within a year. For what to do in practice, see account frozen or withdrawal stuck.
How to check which company you signed with
Open the terms from the app or the site footer
do it while logged in, so you see the version shown for your region.Search for "between you and" or "Company"
the company name follows.Find the Governing Law and Arbitration sections
note the governing law, the arbitration body, the seat, and whether you must send a notice first.Save a PDF
terms change, so keep the version and date from the day you signed up. You will need it in a dispute.
Contracting entity and your rebate
Your rebate depends on the referral code you entered at sign-up, not on which company you contract with. None of the terms we read say whether a regional entity keeps the global site's referral link. If you plan to sign up on a regional site, such as an EU site, contact Fee Otter support first.
Futures rebates when you sign up on the global sites through Fee Otter (2026-10-23): KuCoin 60% (all automatic, paid by the exchange); BingX 45% (all refunded automatically by BingX, no UID binding with Fee Otter needed); Binance 40% (20% automatic exchange rebate + 20% Fee Otter extra rebate, code FEEOTTER); Bybit 40% (all paid by Fee Otter as extra rebate); OKX 20% automatic rebate + exclusive rewards. Fee Otter's extra rebate is paid out as USDT on BEP20, minimum 1 USDT, with a 0.015 USDT network fee, and every payout can be checked on BscScan. Live rates are on the rebate rates page. Exchanges set rebate rates and can change them, so check the rates page before you sign up.